City elections scheduled May 11: Rockwall to elect Mayor, 4 Council members

ROCKWALL – The offices of mayor and city council places 1, 2, 3 and 5 will need to be filled in the City of Rockwall elections scheduled May 11.

Applications for a place on the ballot must be received in person at the City Secretary’s office, which is located on the 3rd floor of Rockwall City Hall (385 S. Goliad Street) by March 1 at 5 pm.

Candidate informational packets may be downloaded from the city secretary’s web page at http://www.rockwall.com/CouncilCandidates/index.asp.

Three members of the current Council say they will be running for a second two-year term:

-Mayor David Sweet, and Council members David White (Place 1), Bennie Daniels (Place 3).

-Place 5 Council member Michelle Smith announced last week that she is not running for re-election.

-Place 2 Council member Jim Pruitt, who was appointed last fall to replace Mark Russo, after he resigned following his election as Rockwall County Justice of the Peace, will run to fulfill the remaining one year of that term.

Over 30 people submitted applications for that positions last fall, so plenty are of names are expected on the ballot May 11.

For more information about becoming a candidate, call City Secretary Kristy Ashberry at 972-772-6406.

The city election will be administered by the Rockwall County Elections Administrator (www.rockwallcountytexas.com/elections).

Early voting is April 29 through May 7 at the Rockwall County Election Office on the downtown square at 107 E. Kaufman St.

Voting on May 11 will be from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the Utley Middle School cafeteria.

Applications for ballots by mail must be requested from and mailed to the Rockwall County Elections Office, Attn: Glenda Denton, 107 E. Kaufman St. Rockwall TX 75087. The application must be received no later than close of business on April 26.

By J.J. Smith, Publisher


Leave a Reply