14 newly-elected, re-elected County officials sworn in Jan. 1

(Meagan James photo) ROCKWALL – Fourteen newly-elected and re-elected Rockwall County officials were sworn in Jan. 1 at the Rockwall County Historical Courthouse, including four from the newly-created offices of Justice of the Peace and Constable.

Over 100 people were on hand to watch the ceremony.

Administering the oaths of office were 5th District Court of Appeals Justice David Bridges, District Judges Brett Hall and David Rakow, County Judge-At-Law Brian Williams and Judge Jack James.

Congressman Ralph Hall was supposed to have administered the oaths but was required to stay in Washington D.C. because of the fiscal cliff legislation debate.

“It was a great event,” said Rockwall County District Attorney Kenda Culpepper, who presided as Master of Ceremonies.  “There was a real sense of excitement in the room.  I was glad to be a part of it.”

The following elected officials were sworn in:

  • Justice David Evans – 5th District Court of Appeals
  • Judge Brett Hall – 382nd Judicial District Court
  • Judge David Rakow – 439th Judicial District Court
  • Judge Brian Williams – Rockwall County Court-at-Law
  • Harold Eavenson – Rockwall County Sheriff
  • Kim Sweet – Rockwall County Tax Assessor-Collector
  • Cliff Sevier – Rockwall County Commissioner, Pct. 1
  • Dennis Bailey – Rockwall County Commissioner, Pct. 3
  • Judge Mark Russo – Rockwall County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 3
  • Judge Liana Whitten – Rockwall County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4
  • John Benedetto – Rockwall County Constable, Pct. 1
  • Trey Chaney – Rockwall County Constable, Pct. 2
  • Tom Egan – Rockwall County Constable, Pct. 3
  • Randy Parks – Rockwall County Constable, Pct. 4

They are pictured above. Click once on photo to enlarge and once to reduce.

Top row (from left to right): Judge Liana Whitten, Commissioner Dennis Bailey, Judge Brett Hall, Judge David Rakow, Sheriff Harold Eavenson, Constable Trey Chaney, Constable Tom Egan, Commissioner Cliff Sevier, Constable John Benedetto

Bottom row (from left to right): Justice David Evans, Tax Assessor-Collector Kim Sweet, Judge Brian Williams, District Attorney Kenda Culpepper, Judge Mark Russo, Constable Randy Parks, Justice David Bridges

By J.J. Smith


Leave a Reply