Rowlett elects new Mayor, Council member

ROWLETT – Former City of Rowlett Council member and Mayor Pro Tem Todd Gottel (left) was elected the new Mayor of Rowlett Saturday in a special election required after former Mayor John Harper resigned last April.

Real estate investor Ron Miller was also elected to replace Gottel to the Rowlett City Council Place Four seat with 236 votes (53%), defeating Arlen “Brownie” Sherrill, who received 193 votes (43%) and Duane Fecher who had 18 votes.

Rowlett is a Home Rule City subject to the State of Texas laws, rules and regulations. The City Council is elected at-large representing all residents within the City limits.

The Council members, including the Mayor, serve staggered three-year terms. The Mayor Pro Tem and Deputy Mayor Pro Tem are selected by the Councilmembers each year no later than the month of July.

Other current Council members are Doug Phillips (Place 1), Donna Davis (Place 2), Carl Pankratz (Place 3), Chris Kilgore (Place 5) and Michael Gallops (Place 6).

The City Council meets the first and third Tuesdays of every month in the City Hall Municipal Building, located at 4000 Main St., Rowlett TX 75088. When needed, the Council will also hold special meetings, workshops and public hearings.

As required by law, all meeting agendas are posted 72 hours in advance on the City Hall bulletin boards which are the City’s official posting place. The bulletin boards are located inside the foyer of the City Hall Municipal Building and at the east exit door of the building.

For more info call the City Secretary’s Office at 972-412-6115 or visit

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply