New Rockwall Mayor, City Council members to be sworn in tonight

ROCKWALL – A new leadership era will be ushered in this evening for the City of Rockwall when newly-elected Mayor David Sweet and City Council members David White, Bennie Daniels and Michelle Smith will be sworn in at the public portion of the City Council meeting.

City Council meetings are held the first and third Mondays of each month at 6 pm at City Hall, 385 S. Goliad St. 75087.

All elected May 14, Sweet (top left) will replace three-term Mayor Bill Cecil, who reached his term limit. White (top center) takes over the Place 1 seat, which the new mayor previously held for two terms. Daniels moves into the Place 3 seat, replacing former two-term Council member Glen Farris, who stepped down in his unsuccessful bid for mayor. Smith replaces three-term Council member Matt Scott, who reached his term limit, and will sit in the Place 5 seat.

The Council’s three remaining members who did not face elections this year are Mark Russo in Place 2, Cliff Sevier in Place 4 and Margo Nielsen in Place 6.

Action items which the new Council will consider this evening include the approval of the route, dates, and waiver of Harbor District rental fees for the Toyota U.S. Open Triathlon, plus approval of a negotiated settlement with Oncor Electric Delivery Company for a rate increase.

By J.J. Smith, Publisher


Leave a Reply