No city, school board elections in Royse City this May

There will be no City or school board elections in Royse City May 14 since no new candidates filed by March 14 to run against incumbents.

Consequently, City Council incumbents Mayor Jerrell Baley, Janet Nichol (Place 1), former County Judge Bill Bell (Place 3) and James Branch (Place 5) can continue for another two years.

Incumbent Royse City ISD Board members Jerry Richardson and Bobby Summers will each serve additional four-year terms.

There may be elections next year, however, since the terms of several Council and Board members will expire in 2012.

Terms for City Council members Clay Ellis (Place 2), Brooks Williams (Place 4) and Tom Crowley (Place 6) expire in 2012.

RCISD Board members whose four-year terms end in 2012 are President Don Palmer (Place 3), Dr. Ronda Phillips (Place 4) and Charles Carroll (Place 5).

By J.J. Smith, Publisher


Leave a Reply