City, school board election filing deadlines March 14

The filing deadline for City and school board elections across Rockwall County is just around the corner.

The last day for candidates to file for a place on the ballot is March 14 at 5 pm.

The general election is May 14.

Three candidates are now running to become Rockwall’s new Mayor, replacing Mayor Bill Cecil, who is required by law to step down after three terms.

Current two-term council members David Sweet and Glen Farris, who have expiring terms, plus former Council member and life-long Rockwall resident Sam Buffington, have all filed. Buffington served from 1995-2001.

Sweet (Place 1) and Farris (Place 3) are not running for re-election as Council members.

Bob Lewis and Freddie Jackson have filed for the Place 1 seat on the Council.  Bennie Daniels has filed for Place 3. Connie Jackson has filed for Place 5, to replace outgoing Matt Scott, whose third term is expiring.

City of Rockwall application packets are available at the city secretary’s office on the third floor of City Hall, 385 S. Goliad St.

In other filings across Rockwall: County:


Current Council Members Robert Hille (Place 1), Steve McKimmey (Place 4) and Rich Krause (Place 6) have filed for re-election since their terms are ending.

The term of Karen Lewis (Place 2) will also expire but no word yet whether she is filing again.

Applications are available at Heath City Hall, 200 Lawrence Drive.

Royse City

All incumbents have filed for re-election, including Mayor Jerrell Baley, Janet Nichol (Place 1), former County Judge Bill Bell (Place 3) and James Branch (Place 5).

Applications are available at City Hall, 305 N. Arch St.


The terms of three City Council members will expire this year. They are Kerry Wiemokly, Place 1; Forest Murley, Place 3; and K.C. Erwin, Place 5.

Only John Stacy has thus far filed as a candidate for the Place 3 position.

Applications are available at Fate City Hall, 105 Main St.


McLendon-Chisholm Council Members with expiring terms are Jess Lovell ( Place 1), Patrick Short (Place 3) and Lee Nichols (Place 5).

Nichols has filed for re-election.

Applications are available at McLendon-Chisholm City Hall, 1248 Texas 205.

Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees

Incumbents Dr. Stan Lowrance (Place 7) and Leigh Plagens (Place 6) have filed for re-election on the RISD school board.

Randy Oakes has filed to challenge Dr. Lowrance for his seat.

School board application packets may be picked up during regular business hours in the superintendent’s office at the RISD administration building, 1050 Williams St. in Rockwall.

Royse City ISD Board of Trustees

Incumbents Bobby Summers (Place 1) and Jerry Richardson (Place 2) have filed for re-election.

Applications are available at the RCISD administration building, 810 Old Greenville Rd in Royse City.

By J.J. Smith, Publisher


Leave a Reply