Sixth grader Abigail White wins Rockwall County Spelling Bee

Nebbie Williams Elementary School sixth grader Abigail White from Rockwall won the Rockwall County Spelling Bee, sponsored by The Dallas Morning News and E.W. Scripps Company, Feb. 8 at the RISD Administration Building.

Wesley Williams from Maurine Cain Middle School in Rockwall finished second, earning the alternate spot in the competition.

Wesley and Abigail soared through 22 rounds of words until a champion was finally named. The winning word was “parliament.”

Abigail will now advance to the 53rd annual Regional Spelling Bee March 26 at the University of Texas-Dallas campus, which will be televised on Channel 8. The Regional Spelling Bee Champion will then advance to the National Spelling Bee in Washington, D.C.

RISD Superintendent Jeff Bailey praised Abigail for her efforts and wished her well in the regional competition.

“I am so proud of Abigail for her tremendous accomplishments in this ongoing competition,” said Bailey. “Her hard work and dedication has really paid off and I wish her the best of luck in the regional competition. This is a testament to her passion for education and a proud moment for her and her family.”

The contest was open to all students in fourth through eighth grade in Rockwall County. Campus winners from Rockwall ISD elementary schools, middle schools and from HEAR (Home Education Associational Resources, Inc) participated.

Additional Rockwall County contestants included:

  • Collin Vath from Amanda Rochell Elementary
  • Kaitlin Rothbaur from Amy Parks Elementary
  • Katherine Berger from Celia Hays Elementary
  • Savannah Chatham from Dorris A. Jones Elementary
  • Brooke Renfro from Dorothy Smith Pullen Elementary
  • Daniel Smith from Doris Cullins-Lakepointe Elementary
  • Kyleigh Randolph from Grace Hartman Elementary
  • Hamdia Abdo from Herman E. Utley Middle School
  • Heidi Blackwell from J.W. Williams Middle School
  • Eric Jurgensmeyer from Ouida Springer Elementar
  • Abby Colegrove of the Rockwall HEAR
  • Michael Jarrett from Sharon Shannon Elementary
  • Kelsey Vinci from Virginia Reinhardt Elementary

By J.J. Smith, Publisher

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply