Republicans again sweep Rockwall County contested races

By J.J. Smith. Republicans again showed their strength in Rockwall County elections yesterday as GOP candidates swept all Rockwall County contested races.

Rep. Ralph Hall won his 16th term in Congress, winning 80 percent of the vote in Rockwall County (14,949 votes).

Greenville physician Bob Deuell won his third term in State Senate District 2, receiving 81 percent of the Rockwall Co. vote (14,988 votes).

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Justices Lana Myers and Bob Fillmore each won, taking 81 percent of the Rockwall Co. vote.

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal Chief Justice Carolyn Wright and Justice Mike O’Neill were unopposed.

Winning uncontested elections were:

  • State Representative Jodie Laubenberg
  • Rockwall Co. Criminal District Attorney Kenda Culpepper
  • Rockwall Co. Judge Jerry Hogan
  • District Clerk Kay McDaniel
  • County Clerk Shelli Miller
  • County Treasurer David Peek
  • County Commissioners Lori Grinnan and David Magness
  • Justices of the Peace Jack James and Nancy Beaty

Of Rockwall County’s 45,919 registered voters, 41 percent (18,948) cast ballots yesterday.

Nearly 84 percent of registered voters – 9,252 men and women – voted straight Republican.

Sixteen percent of registered voters – 1,741 people – voted straight Democrat.

For complete Rockwall Co. election results, see the Rockwall County election website.


1 Response for “Republicans again sweep Rockwall County contested races”

  1. Kris Wade says:

    It is good that we have the right people in the right places. At least our county runs like it is suppose to.

Leave a Reply