Candidates set for May 8 city, school board elections

By J.J. Smith. Candidates are now set for May 8 city council and school board elections across Rockwall County.

In Rockwall, Bill Bricker and Teddy Nugen will challenge first-term incumbent Mark Russo for the Place 2 City Council seat. David White will challenge Margo Nielsen for the Place 6 seat. Incumbent Cliff Sevier is unopposed.

In Rowlett, Mayor Pro Tem Cindy Rushing will try to unseat first-term Mayor John Harper. Jerry Berggren, Donna Davis and Robert Kittrell will compete for the Place 2 Council position. Incumbent Todd Gittel is unopposed. Michael Gallops, Nicholas Kreekon, Randy Mays and Ron Miller are running for Place 6.

In Royse City, Brooks Williams and Jim McLeroy will compete for the Place 4 Council seat. Clay Ellis and Tom Crowley are unopposed.

In Heath, Mayor John Ratcliffe and Council members Lorne Liechty and Julie Zurek are running unopposed.

Four school board members will run unopposed. Rockwall ISD trustees are Doug Hamilton and Dr. David Loftis. Royse City trustees are Mike Stone and Julie Stutts.

The City of Heath, plus both school districts will likely cancel their elections to save money since all candidates are unopposed.

To register to vote, see the Rockwall County Elections Office website or the City of Rowlett website.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply