Grinnan, Magness, Miller, Wilson win; County Judge, JP races to run-off


By J.J. Smith. Incumbent Rockwall County Commissioners Lorie Grinnan and David Magness were re-elected, newcomer Shelli Miller defeated Rockwall Mayor Pro Tem David Sweet in the Rockwall County Clerk’s race and Paul Wilson was elected Republican Party Chairman according to the official results of yesterday’s Republican primary election.

Grinnan beat Fred Lively with 68.5 to 31.5 percent of the vote. Magness defeated Stan McWhirter, 59 to 41 percent. Miller beat Sweet, 58 to 42 percent. Wilson won, 62 to 39 percent, over Brenda Zielke.

Candidates Jerry Hogan and Kevin Fowler led the County Judge voting and will now head into a run-off election April 13. Hogan received 33 percent and Fowler 27 percent of the vote. Incumbent County Judge Chris Florance  and former Rockwall Mayor Ken Jones missed the run-off with 21 and 19 percent, respectively.

Incumbent Justices of the Peace David Karr and Larry Holloway also led the voting in their races but did not receive over fifty percent of the vote. They will also advance to the run-off election against Jack James and Nancy Beaty, respectively.

Karr received 42 percent, James 35 percent and Michelle Leek Sutton 23 percent in the JP Precinct 1 & 4 race. Holloway received 38 percent, Beaty 34 percent and Cathy Penn 28 percent in the JP Precincts 2 & 3 race.

Also elected in uncontested County-wide races were incumbent Criminal District Attorney Kenda Culpepper, incumbent District Clerk Kay McDaniel and newcomer David Peek as County Treasurer.

Andrew Hall defeated Ralph Mount in the Precinct 2B Chairman race, 60 to 40 percent.

Final vote totals are available at the Rockwall County Elections Office website.

Terri St. Clair, the only Democrat candidate on the County-wide ballot, ran uncontested for County Chair.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply