Numerous local Republicans, no local Democrats running in 2010 elections


By J.J. Smith. Despite the tremendous political successes Democrats have recently achieved – from winning the White House to controlling both houses of  Congress to the complete takeover of the Dallas County court system – Democrats apparently have still made little ground in Rockwall County.

Twenty-five Republican candidates from Rockwall County have filed to run for political offices in 2010. Not a single local Democrat filed to run by last Monday’s deadline.

In all, six candidates filed to challenge 15-term Republican U.S. Rep. Ralph Hall, including Rockwall residents Steve Clark, Jerry Ray (Tea) Hall (no relation), plus John Cooper of Sulphur Springs, Sherman resident Joshua Kowert and last-minute filer Lou Gigliotti (home not yet known).

The lone Democrat nominee from Sulphur Springs is attorney VaLinda Hathcox, an attorney from Sulphur Springs.

Jim Prindle of Allen is running as a Libertarian Party candidate.

In State Sen. District 2, Rowlett Republican Sharon Russell will challenge  Sen. Bob Deuell from Greenville. The winner will face Kathleen Maria Shaw, an insurance agent from Cedar Hill, in November.

In Rockwall County, Kevin Fowler, Jerry Hogan and Ken Jones have lined up to challenge County Judge Chris Florance.

Fred Lively will oppose County Commissioner Lorie Grinnan.

Stan McWhirter will oppose County Commissioner David Magness.

David Sweet and Shelli Miller will compete for County Clerk.

Justice of the Peace, Precincts 1 & 4, David Karr is opposed by Jack James and Judge Michelle Sutton.

Justice of the Peace, Precincts 2 & 3, Larry Holloway, is opposed by Nancy Beaty and Judge Cathy Penn.

Paul Wilson of Rowlett and Brenda Zielke of Rockwall will compete for Rockwall County Republican Party Chairman.

Unopposed candidates are incumbents Criminal District Attorney Kenda Culpepper and District Clerk Kay McDaniel, plus newspaper publisher David Peek who, without competition from either party, will apparently become County Treasurer.

Feb. 1 is the deadline to register to vote for the March 2 primary election. Early voting is scheduled between Feb. 16 and Feb. 26, 2010.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply