Early voting now underway until May 5; Election day May 9


By J.J. Smith

Early voting for civic elections in Fate, Heath, McClendon-Chisholm, Rowlett and Royse City, plus the Rockwall ISD school board, began Monday, April 27, across Rockwall County and continues Monday-Saturday through May 5.

Election day is Saturday, May 9.

Only registered voters may cast ballots.

Early voters can cast ballots at the Rockwall County Elections Office, 107 E. Kaufman, in Old Town Rockwall; the Fate Community Center, at 104 South W.E. Crawford; and the Rowlett Public Library, 3900 Main St.

Heath, McLendon-Chisholm and Royse City voters should cast ballots at their respective city halls. 

Voting hours are 8 am – 5 pm, April 27 – May 1; and 7 am-7pm, May 4-5.

Voting hours on May 9 are 7 am-7 pm.


City of Rockwall voters will only vote for Rockwall ISD board members, since no candidates filed to oppose incumbent city council members.


In Fate, there are four city council seats available with two candidates running for each.

Autumn Lobinsky and Kerry Wiemolky are running for Place 1.

Incumbent Forest Murley and Wilbur “Willie” Williams are campaigning for Place 3.

Place 5 is being sought by previous Place 6 appointee K.C. Erwin, Ryan Pfuhl and Brad Bianucci.

Newly-created Place 6, currently held by Erwin, is being sought by former Fate mayor David Hill and Tammy Ryan.


In Heath, three candidates are running for the newly-created Place 6 city council seat: Tommy Goodson, John Koerner and Rich Krause.


In McClendon-Chisholm, three city council seats are up for grabs.

Jess Lovell and Beverly Stibbens are running for Place 1.

Jerry P. Moss and Patrick Short are campaigning for Place 3.

Gary Moody and James S. Parnell are candidates for Place 5.


In Rowlett, no candidates are running for city council seats, but voters will be asked to vote “Yes” or “No” whether the City should “retain current regulations which prohibit smoking in public and certain private facilities.”


In Royse City, no incumbents are running for office.

Royse City mayoral candidates are William Archer, Jerrell Baley and Connie Goodwin.

City council Place 1 candidates are Xavier Cortez, Janet Nichol and Brooks M. Williams.

Former Rockwall County Judge Bill Bell is the lone candidate for Place 3.

James Branch and Mark Plemmons have filed for Place 5.

A Royse City Candidates Forum has been scheduled April 30, 7:30 pm, at the Royse City Middle School, 1310 E. State Highway 66. Each candidate will introduce him or her self and be given a chance to answer written questions submitted by citizens.


Rockwall ISD school board candidates for Place 1 are former Heath mayor Chris Cuny and local Republican leader Tony Fisk. Place 2 candidates are Russ Childers, Earl Milner and Pastor Norman Quintero.

For sample ballots, voting hours, locations and more, click on the Elections Administrator page on the Rockwall County website. 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply